Do dogs understand object permanence?

Though dogs have a demonstrated ability for object permanence, this ability is not as developed as it is in humans, primates, crows and magpies. In fact, crows test at a near human capacity for object permanence, outstripping other animals by far. Yet dogs still rank high, higher even than cats.