What is paraffin wax made out of?

Paraffin wax is classified as a petroleum wax. It comes from petroleum, coal and oil shale. Paraffin wax is separated from the oil through crystallization. Although paraffin wax comes from a natural source, it usually isn't considered a natural wax.