Why is it called morse code?

Morse code is named for Samuel F. B. Morse, an inventor of the telegraph. Morse code is a method used in telecommunication to encode text characters as standardized sequences of two different signal durations, called dots and dashes or dits and dahs.

---

"Morse Code" was named after it's inventor, Samuel Morse. In fact, it was originally known as "Morse's Code", but was later shortened.