What dog breed is named after the capital of tibet?

The Lhasa Apso was originally bred as a watchdog for Tibetan palaces and monasteries; it was hard for an intruder to sneak in past the watchful, yipping pooches. The "Lhasa" in the name comes from the city of Lhasa, Tibet's longtime capital.