Why did captain america leave the avengers?

Evans said goodbye to the MCU in Avengers: Endgame, which marked the end of his contract with Marvel Studios and saw Steve Rogers opting not to time travel back to the present after returning all the scattered Infinity Stones and instead living out his life as he should have with Peggy Carter.