What are the initials s. o. s. stand for?

SOS is an international code signal of extreme distress, used especially by ships at sea. Although SOS officially is just a distinctive Morse code sequence that is not an abbreviation for anything, in popular usage it is associated with phrases such as "Save Our Souls" and "Save Our Ship".