Where did the name white elephant come from?

The experssion White Elephant has roots in the White Elephants kept by south eastern Asian monarchs that were a sign of just power and opulence. In the West the expression was first used in the 1600s to signify an object that doesn't meet expectations and was widely used by the 1800s.