What does old coot mean?

If you've ever seen a coot — an ungainly marsh bird that bobs its head like a hen as it swims or walks — you can see why "coot" came to denote, by the 1700s, "a harmless, simple person," as in "an old coot." Middle English: probably of Dutch or Low German origin and related to Dutch koet.