Do caterpillars eat other caterpillars?

YES. Although it happens more often when caterpillars are contained and run out of food, cannibalism happens even when there is plenty of food available. Cloudless sulphur caterpillars are well known for cannibalism. Even on a large host plant, they often attack and eat other caterpillars.