What do birds do in the winter time?

Depends on the species. Some birds don't migrate but are able to find sufficient food and shelter to survive the harshest winters, others obey an instinct that instructs them to head South till the same instinct tell them to return in a few months. A robin sometimes "stays over" during the winter