Why did the united states purchase alaska?

march 30, 1867 from russia, the price was $7.2 million dollars (128 million,2018 rate) that price worked out to 2 cents per acre. russia sold alaska for debt they incurred from the crimean war. cost to provide provisions and logistics another, lastly russia looked to asian expansion instead.