Do toads start as tadpoles?

All tadpoles grow into frogs or toads, but not all frogs start out as tadpoles. Roughly half of all frog species have a life cycle that starts with eggs laid in water, which hatch into aquatic tadpoles, and then go through metamorphosis and become adult frogs.