What does it mean to prick a pie crust?

Pricking a pie crust means to poke small holes around the surface usually with a fork to let air out while baking so it does not puff up too much.

---

Docking involves pricking the crust with a fork to allow steam to escape evenly. Otherwise the crust will tend to bubble up and cook unevenly. Pie weights do the essentially same thing by pressing down the crust and holding it in place.