What is a button string?

"Button String" could refer to a closure for an envelope, where a thread winds around a pair of buttons. One on the flap, and one on the body. Or to a toy where a 4 hole flat button is threaded by diagonally opposed holes onto a loop of thread, forming a simple spinning toy.