What makes lightning bugs glow?

From ScientificAmerican.com: fireflies produce a chemical reaction inside their bodies that allows them to light up. This type of light production is called bioluminescence. Oxygen combined with calcium, adenosine triphosphate and the chemical luciferin in the presence of luciferase, it glows.