What is the spitfire plane?

The Spitfire was a fighter aircraft designed by R.J. Mitchell of the Supermarine Aviation Works in Great Britain. It was introduced to the Royal Air Force in August 1938. It, with the Hawker Hurricane won the Battle of Britain. It became the most used fighter in the RAF & served throughout WWII.