Who is martha's vineyard named after?

It was named "Martha's Vineyard" by the English explorer Bartholomew Gosnold, who had sailed to the island in 1602. The island's namesake is not definitively known, but it is believed that the island was named after Gosnold's mother-in-law or his daughter, who were both named Martha.