What is the scientific name for ringworm?

Ringworm has several scientific names. Ringworm of the body is tinea corporis, ringworm of the foot is tinea pedis, jock itch is tinea cruris, and ringworm of the scalp is tinea capitis. Ringworm transmits by skin-to-skin contact and responds to anti-fungal medication.