Why do rabbits shed?

Rabbits usually shed or molt every 3 months in order to get their new coats. They usually shed very heavy at the beginning of summer and then again toward the end of summer when you will see lots of fur loss. The lighter molting usually does not leave bald spots, and is similar to cats and dogs.