What is a slender man?

The Slender Man is a fictional supernatural character that originated as a creepy pasta Internet meme created by Something Awful forum user Eric Knudsen in 2009. He is depicted as a thin, unnaturally tall humanoid with a featureless head and face, wearing a black suit.