How many chaos emeralds are there in sonic the hedgehog?

In most of the Sonic the Hedgehog video games, there are seven Chaos Emeralds, although the original game only contained six. There are additional sets of emeralds, such as the Super Emeralds and the Master Emerald, in some of the games in the franchise.