Who originally sing one is the loneliest number?

"One" is a song written by Harry Nilsson, and made famous by Three Dog Night, whose recording reached number five on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 in 1969, and number four in Canada. The song is known for its opening line: "One is the loneliest number that you'll ever do".