What is a rubber band man?

"The Rubber band Man" is a song recorded by the American vocal group the Spinners. It was co-written by producer Thom Bell with the intent to improve his son's self-image after being teased for his weight. The song eventually evolved from being about "The Fat Man" to "The Rubber band Man".