How long should you broil a steak?

If the steaks are thinner than 2 inches, broil for 2 minutes per side, if 2 inches or thicker, broil for 4 minutes. Continue broiling for 2-4 minutes per side, until the meat is 125 degrees on an instant read thermometer for a medium rare steak, 130 degrees for medium well, and 140 for well done.