What was the first animal in outer space?

Technically the first living beings launched into space were fruit flies launched in nineteen forty-seven. Two years later a reses monkey was launched and recovered. These first flights were sub-orbital, not into orbit.

---

The first animal to make an orbital spaceflight around the Earth was the dog Laika, aboard the Soviet spacecraft Sputnik 2 on 3 November 1957.