How do you get permanent marker off of the wall?

Rubbing alcohol

---

This would depend on the surface of the wall. If the wall is painted it is possible that the ink from the marker has penetrated through the paint and the paint must be removed. They do call it permanent. On non porous surfaces alcohol works as does a pencil eraser.