Why are chocolate sprinkles called jimmies?

The Just Born Candy Company of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania claims they named Jimmies after an employee and also invented them.

---

The origin of the name jimmies is uncertain, but it was first documented in 1930, as a topping for cake. The Just Born Candy Company of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, claims to have invented jimmies and named them after an employee