What's the recipe for brine?

The basic ratio of salt to water for a brine is 4 tablespoons of salt per 1 quart (4 cups) of water

---

Brine is used to flavor or preserve food. The base is simply water and salt. Use 4 Tbs. salt per quart of water. Bring it to a boil, and cool to room temperature to use. Most people also add flavorings while it boils; such as garlic cloves, Pickling spices, soy sauce, Ginger, or bouillon crystals .