What is a bugaboo?

Bugaboo: an imaginary object of fear, bugbear, something that causes fear or distress out of proportion to its importance. Origin Scotland, now-obsolete word bogill meant "goblin, bugbear." A bugbear, in the 1580 coining of the word, was a demon that looked like a bear and ate small children.