Who is the painter of light?

William Thomas Kinkade III was an American painter of popular realistic, pastoral, and idyllic subjects. He is notable for the mass marketing of his work. Kinkade described himself as a "Painter of Light", but which was earlier used to describe the English artist J. M. W. Turner