Why do cats chew on plastic?

There are many reasons why cats chew on plastic, but some reasons are: They like the crinkly sound plastic makes, or they want your attention. The taste of food may be on the plastic. The scent of animal byproducts, such as fish oil or gelatin, which are used to make many plastics, may be a reason.