What's the difference between semi sweet and bitter sweet chocolate?

Semi sweet chocolate has more sugar than bitter sweet but they both have sugar. There is no regulation that details the difference in amount of sugar between the two types. If you need one type for a recipe and only have the other, taste it to decide if it could be right for the recipe.