Is sand a mineral?

Sand is a mixture of small grains of many minerals. Depending on the location of the sand, it may be made of crushed skeletons of marine animals, or of small grains of weathered rock, such as quartz, granite, basalt, olivene, or any of an almost countless variety of other minerals.