What was the eighteen forty nine gold rush?

The Gold Rush of 1848 ( 1848-1855) began on January 24, 1848 when James Marshall found gold in Sutters Mill in Coloma California. The news of the gold discovery brought over 300,00 people to the Coloma area to search for gold.