When was the candy peeps invented?

Peeps candy were introduced in 1953 by Just Born. Originally it took 27 hours to created each yellow chick Peep. Technology has spend up the process and peeps are created in about 6 minutes now and come in multiple shapes, colors and flavors.

---

The marshmallow convection peeps was released in 1953 by the Rodda Candy Company. However there is speculation that a candy similar to peeps was created as a special order item in the 1940's. Currently the convection is created by Just Born Quality Confections that is headquartered in Pennsylvania.