What is a tribal i. d. number?

The Native American Tribal number is formally know as the Certificate of Degree of Indian or Alaskan Blood (CDIB) number. The CDIB is a document issued by the US Bureau of Indian Affairs that establishes a person's heritage as being part of a nationally recognized Native American tribe.