Who did the minions serve in nineteen forty five?

The debate states that the Minions would have likely served in Nazi Germany between 1933 and 1945, even though KnowYourMeme states that this is canonically incorrect as the Minions lived in a cave between 1812 and 1968 and didn't serve anyone during this time.