When were birkin stocks created?

In 1896 the Fussbett (footbed) was created and by 1925 Birkenstocks were sold all over Europe. In 1966 Margot Fraser first brought Birkenstocks to America, where they eventually landed in health stores, thus becoming associated with hippies in the 1970s.