How much did a house cost in nineteen thirty?

The average residential housing price in 1925 was approximately $6,000, according to Robert Shiller's U.S. Housing Price Index. From 1926 through 1942, houses prices steadily decreased due to a depressed U.S. economy. The 1920s followed a period of war and inflation.