How does someone become happy?

The spiritual answer might be Jesus or practice mindfulness or contentment. The biological answer would be that depression is caused by inflammation. so eat healthy and exercise. Figure out what gives meaning to your life and work hard at that. Build relationships with people. Be grateful.