What is an uncured hot dog?

A cured hot dog has been preserved with nitrites. These artificial compounds prevent the meat from spoiling and are used to enhance the flavor, color and smell of the finished hot dog. By contrast, an uncured hot dog does not contain artificial nitrates or nitrites.