What is crying made of?

Tears have a similar structure to saliva. They're mostly made of water, but also contain salt, fatty oils, & various proteins. Electrolytes in tears include: sodium, which gives tears their characteristic salty taste. The 3 types of tears are called basal, emotional, & reflex tears.