Why is the bobby pin called a bobby pin?

The bobby pin was invented by Luis Marcus, a San Francisco–based cosmetics manufacturer, after World War I and came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the "bob cut" or "bobbed hair" took hold. He named the pins "bobby" after the bobbed hairstyle.