Why is the bobby pin called a bobby pin?

The bobby pin was invented by Luis Marcus, a San Francisco–based cosmetics manufacturer, after World War I and came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the "bob cut" or "bobbed hair" took hold. He named the pins "bobby" after the bobbed hairstyle.

---

In 1899 the bobby pin came into wide use as the hairstyle known as the "bob cut " or "bobbed hair" took hold. It was invented in Paris by Luis Marcus. This trend gained popularity in the 1920s because the hair grips kept their bobbed hair in place.