When did fortnite start?

First revealed at the 2011 Spike Video Game Awards, where Epic’s former design director Cliff Bleszinski presented a rough trailer for the game. Fortnite: Save The World was made for players to work together to save the remnants of humanity after 98% of the population vanishes from the world.