Who played the original ronald mcdonald?

The origin of Ronald McDonald involves Willard Scott (who also played Bozo the Clown), who performed using the moniker "Ronald McDonald, the Hamburger-Happy Clown" in 1963 on three separate television spots. These were the first three television ads featuring the character.