Can porcelain go in the oven?

Check the manufacturer's instructions. Although porcelain may be oven-safe, the finish of the bowl may not be. Anything made prior to 1970 should not be used in an oven, even if the bottom states that it's oven-safe. manufacturers often used radioactive and other harmful ingredients in the glazes,