How do you get red wine out of carpeting?

With a white cloth, blot as much of the stain as you can. After blotting, pour a bit of cold water directly onto the wine stain to dilute what remains. Blot until no more of the stain will come out. Apply a baking soda and water paste to the stain. Once the paste is dry, vacuum the stain.