How to bake butternut squash?

For natural flavor, cut in half (lengthwise) and cover with butter and sprinkle black pepper on top. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour and a half. To prevent edges from burning, cover lightly with tin foil. Additional toppings include, brown sugar and butter.