Why can't dogs have grapes?

According to the American Kennel Club, grapes and raisins are known to be highly toxic to dogs, though research has yet to pinpoint exactly which substance in the fruit causes this reaction. Ingesting the fruit could potentially lead to acute (sudden) kidney failure in dogs.