What is the smartest dog species?

The Border collie is energetic, affectionate, and, of course very smart. A Border collie dog is a true working dog excelling in sheep herding, athleticism, agility, and cuddling. Border collies are also known for their “herding eye,” an intense gaze used to stare down and herd other animals.